Skip to content

My First Posting

October 11, 2009

There’s a lot of pressure when writing a first post for a blog. What should I say? Something inspiring? Something funny? Something poignant? Well folks, I’m opting for real. Because even I as write this, my daughter is fussing and needing attention and attempting to nurse while being distracted by the neighbor’s dog that keeps barking. And that is my life at the moment.

My reasons for writing this blog have nothing to do with thinking I’ve got all the answers or have it all figured out. Au contraire. I’m a brand new mom and have NOTHING figured out. Well, almost nothing. The few things I have figured out and continue to find out are going to be some of my subject material. But really, the real reason I have entered the blogosphere is to converse with other real life mommies. I want to talk to other mommies who, like me,  are wading through a sea of information to try to find their own parenting styles. I want to gain wisdom and knowledge from other mommies who have figured out the stuff I don’t get. Most of all, I want to talk about being a mommy in real life- the triumphs, the failures, the weird stuff that you do to make your kids happy.

Baby in a Beanie =CUTE!

Baby in a Beanie =CUTE!

A little bit about me, so you know who you’re having this conversation with. I’m Elisabeth. I live in Lodi, Ca which did in fact inspire the great Creedance Clearwater Revival song “Stuck in Lodi”. My husband’s name is Kyle and is wonderful and kind. We have one daughter, Evangeline, who is barely five months old. Hopefully more children to come down the road. I love being a mom and feel encouraged every week that I successfully don’t kill my child due to my naivety as a parent. We have figured a few things out which I look forward to sharing with you. More often than not, things do not go as planned for me as a parent. My strict schedule for Evangeline isn’t followed about 90% of the time. I give her way more plastic toys than I said I would when I was pregnant. And cloth diapering only happens when I’ve had time to do the laundry. But becoming a mother has been the best thing I’ve ever done and has made me appreciate my real life more than I ever thought.

I’m excited to share these experiences with the blogging community and to engage in conversations with anyone who is kind enough to actually read this:)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 12:18 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere! Glad you’re here.

  2. October 25, 2009 6:41 am

    Hi Elisabeth! I just wanted to extend a very warm welcome to the blogosphere. I think “your first posting” is actually quite impressive. I love your commitment to building community, to learning and sharing. That is what blogging is all about, after all.

    P.S. Your daughter in that beanie = incredibly sweet. 🙂

    • October 28, 2009 8:41 pm

      Hi Stephanie,

      Just wanted to again thank you for being an inspiration to me to start my own blog. I’m only a couple weeks in and already I have found such great joy in it!

  3. October 28, 2009 9:01 pm

    I love your blog.

  4. November 4, 2009 2:45 am

    Keep up the good posts. I am an enormous fan.

Leave a Reply

