Skip to content

Lodi Local Spotlight: Java Stop

October 15, 2009

I am a huge fan of shopping locally and supporting the great “mom and pop” places where one lives. Not only does this help the town’s local economy, but you can also find some really unique treasures when you buy locally. Although prices can be more expensive than a huge chain retail store, they are not always. I have found that the service is usually better at the local store, the product of higher quality, and if it is more expensive I think of it as a charitable contribution to the welfare of my city. This week’s local spotlight is inspired by my long standing relationship with caffeine.

Java Stop is located on Hutchins Street near the corner of Lodi Avenue. I cannot rave enough about this place! Although it is a Lodi landmark to many, I have only recently discovered this gem. What started out as a milk stop has morphed into a wonderful coffee joint with their own vintage coffee roaster! Here are some things I LOVE about Java Stop:

1. It is a DRIVE THROUGH!!! It does have a cafe you can sit in, but I almost never go in there due to the absolute convenience of the drive through! When you have a car full of groceries, little ones either screaming or sleeping, and several other errands to do, a drive through is like a blessing from God when you need some caffeine at 4:30 in the afternoon.

2. You can buy milk, eggs, half and half, coffee beans or grounds, AND amazing coffee drinks! This place has stayed true to its roots as a milk stop and continues to sell it by the gallon or half gallon. Milk and eggs are what we are constantly running out of my house so I’ve been loving to kill two birds with one stone at Java Stop. What better excuse for coffee than “we ran out of milk again?” The quality of coffee here is so good too! Much better than Starbucks in my opinion. They also have a huge variety of specialty coffee drinks if that’s your thing.

3. The prices are cheap, the service is GREAT! I have never waited more than a few minutes in the drive through regardless of the line of cars. The baristas are kind and helpful.   Tuesdays are customer appreciation day! You can get a coffee drink for the price of a small one! Love it!

Thanks Java Stop for continuing to feed my caffeine addiction:) java stop

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 7:22 am

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. October 25, 2009 6:45 am

    A milk stop! That’s brilliant. I’ve never heard of such a thing, but I think it’s a fantastic idea. The drive-thru concept is just perfect for moms.

    Oh, and I agree about shopping “local.” I try to do that as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

