Skip to content

Losing Baby Weight in Real Life

October 21, 2009

At the risk of sounding bitter and cynical, I am so sick of seeing skinny women toting around their three week old babies. I mean, really….do you need to flaunt that you have perfect genes (and in some cases jeans) and can lose 30-40 pounds, like, overnight? Some of these women are even my dear friends, and I have to bite my lip  from screaming in frustration when I see them slip back into their pre-maternity clothes like nothing!

You might be able to tell that losing my baby weight has been an uphill battle. It’s especially frustrating because I’m exclusively breastfeeding and most everything you read says that breastfeeding is a great way to lose weight! Well, that really hasn’t been the case for me. Five months out, I’m only down 9-10 pounds from when I left the hospital. That leaves me an additional 15-17 pounds that I still need to lose to get back to me pre-baby weight.

I blame my midwife who told me that breastfeeding is successful when calories are heavily consumed. I may or may not have taken this overboard. Err….

Yes, I’m sure some of the weight is accounted for in my currently gigantic bosom. But sensation cleavage doesn’t always make a gal feel better. My adoring husband is so sweet and loving. He constantly tells me how sexy and beautiful I am, despite the extra weight and oh-so-lovely stretch marks (which will receive a post all unto themselves). But when it comes down to it, it’s not about how your partner feels about the way you look – it’s about you and how you feel. Right now, I don’t feel like myself, although I’m getting back there a little more each day.

Until then, I have a few handy tricks up my sleeve. The Belly Bandit is a life saver for both its stomach-muscle-retraining genius and it’s slimming corset-like effects under clothing. And it’s pretty comfortable and comes in pretty colors:) Ah, a postpartum girl’s best friend. Also, the color black. Always slimming and can be easily brightened with scarves, jewelery and shoes!

Anyone have the secret to losing the baby weight besides the obvious (exercise, eating right and PATIENCE)? Please share the wealth!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 7:02 am

    About breastfeeding and losing weight: I definitely think it helps initially to flush out your uterus and lose that first “wave” of weight. But, after that point, it’s a combination of healthy eating, exercise, and time that will get you back in shape.

    My baby is 7-months-old and I’m still working to get toned and to my ideal weight. Little by little… 🙂

  2. November 5, 2009 5:19 am

    In some ways I’m a lucky one…I got back to my pre-pregnancy weight about 10 weeks postpartum. But it was all due to breastfeeding, and I now understand that this doesn’t happen for everyone.
    Even though the pounds are gone, my body still looks very different. As my girlfriend puts it, it’s like I’m an empty bag! I definitely need to get a plan together for toning my body up, because I’m still super squishy. I have NO IDEA where to find the time for that, though!

    and yes, black is definitely the color of choice in my wardrobe these days! I’m taking full advantage of all these blouses that are loose around the waist right now.

    • November 5, 2009 8:03 pm

      Yes you are a very lucky one! 10 weeks! That’s so great! Good for you:) I’m getting there slowly, now only about 10 more pounds to lose. I know I just need to be patient. I guess it is frustrating because you have the expectation that breastfeeding will help you lose weight. But it is coming off ever so slowly.

      I’m working on toning as well…I have several inspirational picture up of me in my pre-baby days up around the house. It’s so funny because I used to look at those pictures before baby and think “aww, I look awful” Now, I look at them and think…”wow, I was so skinny…sigh”. Oh well, hopefully I’ll get back there some day!!

  3. January 19, 2010 10:54 pm

    some great info here!
    im adding this to my bookmarks…

Leave a Reply

