Skip to content

Pumping…makes you wanna say “mooooo”

October 24, 2009

Sometimes I really do feel a bit bovine while pumping for Evangeline. Even Kyle can’t suppress his laughter when he sees me pump. It is a little strange-looking, I have to admit. I recently went back to work which means that when I’m gone, I’m gone for about six-seven hours a day. I pump breast milk for her or have Kyle bring her to the work during lunch or breaks so I can feed her there. It’s worked out pretty well so far, but I still haven’t gotten down a pumping schedule! I don’t really love to pump – I’m sure no one really does. However, I am encouraged by the peace of mind that it offers that I’m still able to give my baby the nourishment from my body she needs and loves even when I’m gone.

So, I don’t have the pumping thing down totally and scramble most mornings to pump for the day and then pump at work. However, I DO have an amazing pump, a hand-me-down from my sister – Ameda Purely Yours Breastpump. This thing rocks. It’s got an amazing engine, adjustable settings, and is easy to clean and use. The standard flanges were too small for me, but one size up works fine. If you are pumping, flange size is crucial to your comfort level.

I was talking with a friend about it yesterday and she has not gone back to work yet but has started pumping both to store up milk and get her baby used to taking a bottle. We have been very lucky that Evangeline has never rejected a bottle (except when I give it to her of course..she cannot be tricked). I have heard so many horror stories of babies who will not take a bottle if they are exclusively breastfeeding. This is fine, unless the mother ever wants to be away from her baby for more than two hours in the first several months of life. Our favorite bottles are Adiri Natural Nursers.

Adiri Natural Nursers

Adiri Natural Nursers

This super flexible bottle feels most like a breast and can be smooshed like you would when you’re breastfeeding.

So my new goal is to try to have at least three milk bags in the freezer at all times so that I don’t stress about it while I’m gone. Ok, guess that means I gotta go pump now….Moooooo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 3:13 pm

    I can totally relate to this feeling! I’m back at work now, and I’m so thankful to have a private office so that I can pump in peace. It does feel a bit awkward, though! I have the same breast pump (and the next size up flanges!) and I love it. It’s not my baby, but it gets the job done!
    I haven’t tried the bottles you like; they sound great! My little one has rejected several different kinds of bottles, but seems content with the Born Free bottles at this point.

    • November 5, 2009 8:34 pm

      We have a couple of the Born Free ones too and they are great. I also have one of those hands free bustiers to use for pumping. It’s super great and very convenient if you’re pumping a lot (which I am now). Try it out!!

Leave a Reply

