Skip to content

Being A Pregnant/New Mom Newlywed in Real Life

October 30, 2009

Kyle and I are approaching our one year anniversary here in about a month. I’ve been reflecting a lot on being married and loving my partner. My poor, loving husband. When I think about the last year that passed I think about the crazy ups and downs I have put him through.

You see, I was three and a half months pregnant when Kyle and I got married. So during one of the more stressful periods of my life (planning my wedding), I was also an emotional basket case who would cry over nothing and anything. After we got married, my emotional status didn’t get much more even keel. One day I was ecstatic to be a newlywed and Kyle could do nothing wrong in my eyes. The next day I was scrutinizing the way he folded a towel or which side up the sponge should lay on the sink.

I’m sure (wink wink) that most of this had to do with my crazy hormonal changes, but I think I was also just adjusting to all these major life changes at once. Looking back on it, I think I was in a very stressed place and dealing with 1) Being married 2) Becoming a mother 3) Having a house 4) losing some of my independence. Yeah, it’s been a crazy year.

So, some friends of mine and I went through a book together not to change our partners but to become better partners ourselves. We chose Kathi Lipp’s The Husband Project.

The premise is 21 Days of Loving Your Husband. The great thing is that it’s all a secret, you can’t tell your partner you are doing this. In the first year of my marriage, this was such a great tool for me to learn an important lesson: give and serve your partner without expecting a thank you or response. This is still a hard thing for me do because when I do something nice, usually my motivation is recognition. But Kathi’s book really teaches you to avoid this pitfall.

The best part was after day one of the Project, when I was seven months pregnant, Kyle asked me if my obstetrician had given me Prozac. Oh man. That’s when I knew that this project had come at just the right time. Check it out, it’s well worth it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 12:03 am

    Hey Elizabeth –

    I just came across this and love the comment about the Prozac. Would it be ok if I used it on my blog? Just let me know – kathi@kathilipp.com

    Thanks!!!
    Kathi

Trackbacks

  1. Fab Fan Friday – The Husband Project in Real Life

Leave a Reply

