Skip to content

Dancing for your Baby

November 2, 2009

Currently, when Evangeline is really fussy and bored, I’ve been dancing for her. I sit her on the couch or a chair and I dance in front of her. Not like, groovin’ my head or boppin’ my hips, but full on Alvin Ailey “Sinner-Man” jumping and turning and full-body. The bigger the movements, the better. I was a dance major in college, so it’s pretty fun for me to be as wild and crazy and artistic as I can. Sometimes, I put on music (anything from Jack Johnson to Vivaldi to Arvo Part to M.I.A). Most of the time, I score my own “pieces” with dramatic music that matches my movement.

Evangeline looks at my in either shock or amazement…I’m not sure. In any case, she always stops fussing and watches with bated breath.

I love dancing for my baby, or with my baby. For me, dancing is a spiritual act. I miss it so much. I miss going into the studio every day and having the discipline and routine of taking class and pushing my body and mind in new ways. I miss the artistic expression of using my God-given body to praise him in thankfulness. I miss the camaraderie of the dance world, the intimate relationships you develop when you’re rolling all over each other and trusting each other. Lodi is not really a dance mecca. I’m able to practice lots of yoga, which is great. But dancing, at least for me, is something unto itself.

My sister gave me a beautiful book My Mama Had a Dancing Heart by Libba Gray. “My mama had a dancing heart and she gave that heart to me…” This book is so beautifully worded and illustrated. It lovingly describes the beauty of dance as a sort of relationship. I hope to impart my love of dancing to my daughter. Even if she herself does not love to dance and chooses a different avenue of expression, I hope that she remembers the vibrancy of her mother and the dancing heart that I have. I hope she remember the wild crazy dance parties she had with me since she was born.

Oh how I miss my “dancing days”. For now, my stage is my living room and my audience is my baby. Actually, she’s a pretty good inspiration.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 6:52 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing. You write so beautifuly. I know what it is like to leave dance on the side for baby. I have 3. Come back as soon as you can. The studio is fine, there is still a place for you at the barre.
    Jocelyn

  2. November 3, 2009 6:57 pm

    Oh thank you! It’s so good to know I’m not the only dancer/mommy on break out there! Are you dancing now? How was it getting back in after baby? Or should I say babies? Thanks for reading, I really appreciate the conversation:)

Leave a Reply

