Skip to content

Losing Baby Weight update

November 19, 2009

Well, it’s slowly coming off. I now only have about 10-12 pounds to lose to get to my goal weight!

According to kellymom.com, the breastfeeding woman usually retains about 5-7 extra pounds while breastfeeding. This weight is composed of extra water, milk, blood, and more fat in the breasts and underneath the skin. So, I’m not expecting that portion of weight to come off until after I’ve stopped breastfeeding.

I’ve stopped snacking completely and am trying to fit in either a long walk or work out video every day. Kyle and I have also been running on the weekends. Our stroller works ok for it since I’m pretty slow, but we’re looking into a jogging stroller. Of course I’m in love with the BOB Revolution. The front wheel pivots unlike most other jogging strollers. The downside is the hefty price tag. Hence, the searching on Craigslist.

I’ve also been doing some baby yoga! With Evangeline weighing more than 18 pounds, she’s the perfect weight for lunges, bridges, and boat pose! Look for a posting about this soon!

Again, the key I’ve found is patience! And not comparing yourself to others. Does any other mom feel like skinny mommies are jumping out everywhere?? Ahh, lessons in humility for me I guess.

What are some tips you have for losing the baby weight and keeping it off??

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 8:06 pm

    A. Do you have the link to the study from kellymom.com about breastfeeding moms retaining 5-7 pounds? I definitely found that to be true with my first baby. I lost weight rapidly at first, but didn’t completely get back to my svelte self (ha!) until I weaned my daughter at age two. I am currently nursing my second baby. She is almost nine months old and I still have about 7-10 pounds to lose. Waiting patiently. Exercising regularly. Trying to eat healthfully. We’ll see…

    B. Kelty, Bumbleride, and Baby Jogger also make great jogging strollers. I have tried all three brands so feel free to ask if you have specific questions.

    C. Best Wishes! I’m sure you look absolutely fantastic since you are being so intentional about getting fit.

    • December 15, 2009 9:36 am

      I can’t seem to find that post about the kellymom.com rticle, but here’s another article I found! http://www.befitmom.com/weight_loss.html. I’ll have to make sure I change that on my post.

      Thanks for the tips about the other jogging stroller. Do you know if those have swivel wheels? That’s my main draw to the BOB revolution. I’ve used that one and other strollers and the BOB just seems so much easier to use!

Leave a Reply

