Skip to content

Cloth Diapering in Real Life

November 21, 2009

 

Evangeline in cloth diaper with wrap cover

Cloth diapering has made a comeback in the last few years, both for financial and ecological reasons. When I was pregnant, we decided to do cloth diapers and were lucky enough to have people around us that do cloth and could show us what we needed to do.

 

I also had a diaper shower, hosted by my mother’s friends, and received all the cloth diapers and covers that I needed (We also had some hand-me-downs from my sister and sister-in-law). I asked for diaper from Green Mountain Diapers, the best cloth diaper resource in my opinion! I love Green Mountain Diapers because there is a huge variety of options, it’s a user friendly website, and the baby models show you what the diaper actually look like on a human child. So great!

While we have a few fitted diapers, we mostly use the pre-fold or birdseye diapers. I can fit tons of them in Evangeline’s drawers, they are cheap and you can use them for many different sizes depending on the fold. We also use the blessed Snapis! No more diaper pins! These are great and we have a billion.

 

birdseye cloth diapers

Snappis!

Green Mountain Prefold Diapers

Cloth diapers are not only a very eco-friendly diaper option (especially if you hang dry them after washing them), they are also very cost effective. If you total the amount you spend on disposable diapers in two years vs. the amount you spend on buying cloth diapers, washing them and putting them away, the saving is in the thousands!! According to Niki’s Diapers, the estimate is about $300 for cloth diapering in one year (including buying the diapers) vs. $800 for disposable diapers in the first year. You save even more money if you reuse the diapers for additional babies!

Now, of course cloth diapering CAN have the potential to be very expensive if you buy only fitted diapers (like BumGenius) and wash more times than necessary. According to my Green Mountain pre-folds’ directions, the only washing necessary is a wash on cold with a small amount of detergent to get stains out (can wash with Oxi-clean if desired in this cycle), than a sanitizing cycle with a small amount of detergent on hot. Then, either hang dry or put in drier for about 40-45 minutes depending on how many diapers. Note: We also didn’t put any initial investment into the diapers because of the diaper shower. This was a great way to save extra money and I highly recommend this!

If you’re thinking that cloth diapers are too confusing, think again! With a little tutorial (and I mean very little), you too can be a diaper folding professional! Green Mountain has a great and easy to navigate tutorial page here. My favorite is the angel wing diaper wrap when I use plastic covers, and the no pins method when I use a wrap style cover.

We do use disposable diapers about 30-40% of the time (unless I’m being really lazy and not doing laundry, in which case we use only disposables). We use them at night because Evangeline wakes up from being wet once she pees. Disposables help prevent her feeling the wetness. We also use disposables most of the time when we’re out and about because cloth diapers can be bulky to carry around in the diaper bag. My favorite disposable brands are Huggies Pure and Natural and Full Circle. Seventh Generation also has a great diaper, but they tend to be more expensive than the two previously mentioned brands. All of these sites also offer coupons and samples!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 8:08 pm

    I’m thinking about trying cloth diapering, but I’m overwhelmed by it all. I think I need a “Cloth Diaper Mentor.” Ha! 😉

    • December 6, 2009 9:03 pm

      YOu can do it! I know, it’s very overwhelming. There’s SOOO many options. I’m still exploring them and finding new things. But it’s so doable and you can do it, just start and see where it goes.

    • December 15, 2009 9:37 am

      You can totally do it!! The trick is to educated yourself but not to be overwhemled with all that’s out there. I found that although AIO (All in one) diapers are definitely easier, they come with quite a pricetag. I think prefolds are totally fine and work well, especially in conjunction with the Whisper Wraps. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

