Skip to content

My very active baby loves to nurse

December 3, 2009

Evangeline is such an active baby. She loves to look around, grab, roll, put things in her mouth.

Currently, this makes nursing her very difficult mostly because she gets distracted by something while nursing and takes my nipple with her while shifting her focus to the other side of the room. Ow! I try to put things over her head (blanket, nursing cover, etc) but she usually protests this and rips it off so she can continue to look around and look at me.

We’ve gone back to the football hold because it allows her greater access to mommy eye contact as well as looking at whatever is above my head more easily.

I also came across this very cool little gadget I’m considering purchasing. It’s called the Baby Bond. It’s a nursing cover that covers only mom and no the baby so that eye contact is still easily possible. My only concern with this one is the constant pulling off, my nipple might be left to hang out by itself without a little person to cover it up nicely for me. Not that I’m the most modest person in the world, but a nipple is a nipple nonetheless and it’s a bit embarrassing to have it out there for everyone to see.

Still, it looks relatively easy to use and could be used to cover an errant nipple with a quick covering of fabric.

For me and Evangeline, nursing has been such a wonderful and life-giving experience. I’m always looking for new products that help to support the nursing relationship between mother and child. Now I just need one that helps keep the baby on the nipple without her trying to pull it off your breast! Luckily, she hasn’t started biting yet!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 8:59 pm

    That is the neatest thing I have ever seen, I am interested into learning if it works for you.

    For me, it was a nursing necklace that helped with the twiddling and the coming off and on.

    • December 6, 2009 8:51 pm

      I will definitely let you know when I get some good use out of it. What is the nursing necklace that you were talking about??

  2. December 4, 2009 9:47 am

    I just discovered this, too, and I think it sounds seriously awesome.

    And yeah, my little one isn’t biting, but she is yanking. And it definitely hurts!

  3. December 6, 2009 8:50 pm

    Yes, we need to invent a non-yanking contraption!! Save the nipples!

  4. December 6, 2009 9:16 pm

    I am sorry Elisabeth, I am new and I am just getting the wordpress’ comments. Thank you so much for leaving me a comment, because I would not have known you asked.

    A nursing necklace is a sturdy necklace made of different shapes, colours and textured beads. So around the age development of what you discussed here it helps the child keep the focus on the necklace and nurse a bit longer and cut down on the twiddling! Here is one I would recommend http://lorisnursingnecklaces.com/

    Hope this helps! I would also refer any breastfeeding mother to the forums on Kellymom. I have a link on my blog, it’s been a great help for me and someone is always on to try to help.

    • December 15, 2009 9:38 am

      Thanks for nursing necklace link! I actually found some similar necklaces in my junk jewelery that I’ve been using and it seems to work!!

  5. Allie permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:24 pm

    Emma totally did that head-turning thing too. Not so comfortable! (But funny!)

Leave a Reply

