Skip to content

The importance of community

December 7, 2009

We all know the saying, “It takes a village to raise a child”. Although it’s super cliché, I cannot help but realize how very true this is. I’m to have an amazing community of friends and family that help me through life, loss, sleep deprivation, and the rest of it.

I am lucky to have both my parents and Kyle’s parents living in town. With both of us working opposite schedules, our lives would truly not be possible without the generous help of our parents. They also provide continuous support and encouragement in our daily struggles and triumphs as parents.

My friends are simply amazing. I am realizing just how rare it is to have such a great support great like I do. There are four of us who have had babies within one year of each other and several other moms in my circle who have children only slightly older. We are able to gain encouragement from each other, call each other when times are tough and help one another with life. We help each other move, make meals for one another when we’re sick or when we have babies, watch each other’s kids so we can go to the back room and sleep, and are sometimes just their to listen and talk.

One of the greatest things my little circle of friends has done recently is to start a babysitting co-op. Each member of the babysitting co-ops has a “bank” of hours. You deposit hours when you watch someone’s kids and you withdraw hours when someone else watches your kids. This has saved us countless dollars, stress, and time. It’s so easy to use and there’s almost always someone available to watch whoever. I’m also so much more trusting of my friends who have kids to watch mine than a teenager who has never had her own baby. I encourage EVERYONE to start this among your friends, mom’s group, church group, exercise group or whatever. You will make friends, save money and have fun.

With the new baby on the way, my support group has been especially wonderful. It’s so amazing to be able to count on my friends and family to help me through life, and it’s so much more fun than trying to do it by myself. Thank you to all you amazing women (you know who you are) and to my parents and parents-in-law. I thank God for you every day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 4:51 pm

    I’m convinced it’s true; it does take a village. Even two parents by themselves are going to be overwhelmed. Can you imagine what single parents go through??

  2. December 11, 2009 12:30 pm

    I love the co-op idea; thanks for the resource!

Leave a Reply

