Skip to content

weird dreams

December 16, 2009

I was just over at It’s Your Movie, and Erin just posted about a weird dream she had. I suddenly remembered the onslaught of weird pregnancy dreams I’m ALREADY having.

I’ve actually always had weird dreams, but when I’m pregnant I guess they get especially weird. Here are some highlights from this pregnancy and the last. Again with the lists. I know I know. Just go with it.

1. When I was pregnant with Evangeline, I dreamt I gave birth to a baby tiger. I was trying to breastfeed immediately after birth, but the sharp teeth were causing a problem. Then, within fifteen minutes, the tiger morphed into a fully clothed sixteen year old African-American girl. I continued to try to breastfeed but felt so awkward about it that I just couldn’t. Weird.

2. This pregnancy, I dreamt I gave birth to twins in a dentist chair . I pushed the first one out and my mom took him (a boy) and away so I could deliver the second. She came back while I was pushing and told me that the baby was actually a hermaphrodite. I was so mad at her for telling me this that I yelled at her to leave. Then, later the doctor told me that the baby was not a hermaphrodite but simply had very small testicles. WHY oh WHY am I having these kind of weird bizarre and kind of messed up dreams?

I used to be really into dream analysis, as in the concept that everything you dream means something. Then, I started having these kinds of dreams and the more that I tried to analyze the dreams, the more freaked out I got. So I kind of just stopped believing that everything meant something for my sanity.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 10:18 pm

    Oooh interesting!

    I used to have that dream too, where the baby would morph into different things. I also had dreams about baby tigers and kittens a TON when I was pregnant, though for me I think it is because I would get carpal tunnel in my sleep and my hand would start tingling/stinging and it felt like sharp cat teeth biting me…

    I once had a dream when I was pregnant with Clark that the skin on my stomach stretched so thin around him that I could actually see his face. And you know what? When he was born he looked just like he had in my dream!

    • December 18, 2009 9:45 am

      Yeah, what’s with the cats and tigers thing? Someone else told me they used to have dreams about that too. So bizarre!

  2. Allie permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:44 pm

    That’s hilarious (esp the second one!) Sometimes dreams are so vivid they seem like they must mean something….a couple nights ago I dreamt of a fully loaded pomegranate tree that I felt compelled to pick so the fruit wouldn’t be wasted. I was so freaked by that one when I woke up that I immediately took a pregnancy test (which turned out to be totally unecessary, but reassuring). I mean pomegranates- how symbolic can you get?!

    • December 23, 2009 10:58 am

      That’s hilarious! I love that you were picking pomegranates. I haven’t had any fruit dreams yet, but I’ve still got six and a half months!

  3. December 18, 2009 5:39 pm

    Wow…I thought I had weird dreams, but you win! I just dreamed no less than 9 times during my pregnancy that I was at Disney World.

    • December 23, 2009 10:58 am

      Well, Disney World is not a bad dream at all!! Hopefully I will have one of those coming up soon!

Leave a Reply

