Skip to content

Thinking About Christmas

December 21, 2009

Christmas is now only a few days away. This year hasn’t seemed as crazy as Christmas usually is. I’ve luckily had a lot more time to relax, enjoy family, look at my little Christmas tree, and think about “the reason for the season” (blah, I hate that phrase).

Last night I was sitting in my non-church fellowship gathering thing, Sojourn, reflecting about Christmas and why we celebrate. I had just taken communion and went back to the back of the room where the parents and babies hang out. I was looking lovingly at my child, and I couldn’t help but think about Jesus as a baby.

I love to think about Jesus is his humanity. He was completely human and completely God. What was that like? What was Jesus like as a baby? Did he stare lovingly into his mother’s eyes as he nursed from her breasts? Was he a good sleeper? Did he have colic? What about child-hood illnesses? What was his favorite toy as a baby? What was his first word? Did he suck his thumb?

The picture we most often get from the stories is a perfect, silent baby wrapped in swaddling clothes lying in a manger. But Jesus was still a baby. And a baby is a baby. They come with all their perfect and imperfect little baby quirks. It’s weird to think about Jesus as an infant with a poopie diaper. But he did, right? Somehow, thinking about Jesus in this way helps me feel closer to him. It helps me feel like the vastness that is God is more relatable because of Jesus and his human-ness. Perhaps this is part of God’s plan (aside from  salvation). Perhaps this plan to make himself into one of us was a way of helping us relate to him.

Just something I’m mulling over this year at Christmas time….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 8:20 am

    Thanks for the thoughtful comments. It’s an amazing concept, God become man, and I believe too that one of God’s great purposes in doing this thing was to “put skin on” Himself so that we could know Him.

  2. December 23, 2009 5:58 am

    The Incarnation is a wonderful Mystery indeed, that one can never quite plumb the depths of.

    It’s also a rich Mystery to think about what it must have been like for Mary, at the Annunciation: “Oh! THIS is what I was made for. Wow. Here am I, the handmaid of the Lord. Let it be to me according to your word.” Well worth meditating on not just at Christmas.

    • December 23, 2009 10:57 am

      Well said. Now that I’m a mother, I definitely feel more interested in Mary’s perspective. It’s one of those times I really wish someone had videotaped!

  3. December 24, 2009 1:22 pm

    So tell us about your “non-church fellowship gathering.” I’m intrigued.

    Also: I so wish I could get a glimpse of Jesus as a baby. I’ve often pondered those same questions. I wonder, too, about Joseph and Mary’s “parenting style.” For, example, how did they discipline…or did they not need to? 😉

    • December 24, 2009 2:53 pm

      Yes, I wonder that too…did Jesus ever throw a tantrum, or have terrible twos? What does it mean to be a perfect child? I’ll post more later about my “non-church fellowship gathering thing”. It’s kinda of a long story:)

  4. matt permalink
    December 25, 2009 12:16 am

    And if Jesus did ever act out did he say to Joseph: ” I don’t have to listen to you, you’re not my real dad!” Love ya and a merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

